Scottish Thistle Awards

Thistle Award 2023 COLOUR

There are also four awards which are awarded at a National level only. If you would like to enter one of the following National-only categories, please visit The Scottish Thistle Awards Website.

  • Best Business Event

This category celebrates business events as catalysts for economic and social transformation. Aligned to VisitScotland’s Journey to Change, the Scottish Government’s National Performance Framework, the National Strategy for Economic Transformation (NSET), and the United Nation’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) business events can range from corporate conferences or incentive programmes to annual global congresses with thousands of international delegates.

  • Outstanding Sporting Event

Scotland is the Perfect Stage for events. From large scale international events to national and local events, Scotland has a rich annual programme of sporting events which make an important contribution to our thriving communities and cities and the health and wellbeing of our people. 

If your events bring attendees in from outside of the immediate area, from across Scotland or internationally, then you should consider your event part of Scotland’s tourism and events offering and eligible to enter. 


  • Best Luxury Experience

This award celebrates those businesses bringing luxury to the Scottish visitor experience. Luxury experiences are those bespoke offerings which showcase the best of Scotland and bring the wow-factor to every step of the customer journey.  This award recognises unique tour offerings or experience packages, with a focus on exclusivity and attention to detail.